Poems

NaPoMo continues! Robert Frost’s “The Tuft of Flowers”

For what is supposed to be a sunny (though cold) spring day up in Frost’s White Mountains, here is an excerpt from one of my favorites: “The Tuft of Flowers” in A Boy’s Will (Holt, 1913):

But as I said it, swift there passed me by
On noiseless wing a ‘wildered butterfly,

Seeking with memories grown dim o’er night
Some resting flower of yesterday’s delight.

And once I marked his flight go round and round,
As where some flower lay withering on the ground.

And then he flew as far as eye could see,
And then on tremulous wing came back to me.

I thought of questions that have no reply,
And would have turned to toss the grass to dry;

But he turned first, and led my eye to look
At a tall tuft of flowers beside a brook,

A leaping tongue of bloom the scythe had spared

Leave a Reply

