Poems

Kerrin McCadden on Poetry and Teaching

landscape-with-plywood-silhouettes-cover-400x559“I don’t approach workshop as if it were the final nail being hammered into the poem, or the place where it might receive its blessing, but as a place where the poem can be reopened, reconsidered.”

I prize imagination, but I am also highly interested in how craft serves imagination in a poem.  In trying to meet the intention of a poem, I aim to test various craft elements in consideration of their effectiveness in service of imagination. I like to consider where the poet might get out of the way of the poem.  I approach every poem asking myself what the poem might still want, as if revision is in process.  I don’t approach workshop as if it were the final nail being hammered into the poem, or the place where it might receive its blessing, but as a place where the poem can be reopened, reconsidered.

LEARN MORE about the Conference on Poetry and Teaching

HOW TO APPLY to the Conference on Poetry and Teaching

Leave a Reply

