Faculty / Poems

“I told Jesus When I was afraid” by Patrick Donnelly

7cfd1504-0318-49bd-826e-72fd88070a9e

Maesta by Duccio di Buoninsegna

I told Jesus When I was afraid

as a child, I looked for pictures of you in the encyclopedia and circled them around my bed.

Jesus said, I remember Giotto, Cimabue, Fra Angelico. I remember the bells as Duccio’s Maestà was carried into the cathedral.

I told Jesus, I asked you to lift my gayness from me, laid down on my face in front of the altar at All Saint’s Church on West Fort Street in Detroit. I was nineteen, it was 1975, midnight and the tiles were cold.

Jesus said, I remember asking you Hath the rain a father? or who hath begotten the drops of dew?

I told Jesus, for thirty years I asked you to send me someone to love, and then Stephen came and we married, but we were old, so I begged you, keep us alive, let us live a little longer.

Jesus said, I remember I remember I remember the poem of you
that I sent to the empress with a branch of flowering.

*

From JESUS SAID, a poem sequence. Originally published in American Poetry Review. Used
with permission of the author. All rights reserved.

CHECK OUT Patrick’s website

LEARN MORE about Patrick and the Poetry Seminar

HOW TO APPLY to the Poetry Seminar

Leave a Reply

