Call for Submissions / Poems / Writing Contests



submit your poetry manuscript to the

Beatrice Hawley Award

Alice James Books will be accepting submissions of poetry manuscripts to the Beatrice Hawley Award postmarked or submitted online via Submittable by December 1, 2013. The Beatrice Hawley Award welcomes submissions from emerging as well as established poets. Entrants must reside in the United States.

The winner receives $2000, book publication, and national distribution via Consortium. There is no cooperative membership commitment. In addition to the winning manuscript, one or more additional manuscripts may be chosen for publication.

For more information and complete award guidelines, please visit

Previous winners:

Philip Metres – Sand Opera

Jamaal May – Hum Murder

Jane Springer – Ballad

Lesle Lewis – lie down too

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s